Testimonials

Close Quarters Combat Academy aims to serve the community. Empowering members of our community through Self-Defense training is why we are in business. Here are some of the great things members of the community said about us.

  • 5 star review  Close Quarters Combat was my first introduction to self defense and martial arts and it was love at first sight. Taqqee, the instructor, is knowledgeable, fun, and invests a lot of energy into each student. The group of people who train here became some of my really good friends, even after I moved away. One of the unique things about this school is how much emphasis is put on developing the mindset behind self defense. The actual physical movement and techniques can be effective, but ultimately useless if one doesn't know how or when to apply the. If you're looking for practical knowledge, healthy physical activity, or even a deep dive into certain realms of the martial arts world, this is the school for you.

    thumb Katie Hammond
    December 21, 2018

    5 star review  Taqqee is an excellent instructor for people of all ages and ability. My family thoroughly enjoyed his lessons and learned so much. We are looking forward to our next session!

    thumb Kim Hytinen
    June 24, 2021

    5 star review  CQC is a fantastic place to train. Taqqee is a excellent teacher, he takes the time to explain what is being taught and knows a lot of the history of the art. All are welcome at his training. You will not find a better Salat gym or teacher in the area.

    thumb Alison fried
    December 6, 2019

    5 star review  Whether you're a complete beginner or a season pro at training in traditional martial arts, taqqee at CQC meets you where you're at and makes you feel welcomed. Wealth of knowledge with a strong foundation in the Filipino martial arts

    thumb Dan Pratt
    December 5, 2019

    5 star review  Incredibly talented and phenomenal teacher. Every student is given the chance to go at their own pace and learn effectively. I have taken private lessons and public classes and it is one of the most positive and encouraging environments you could be in while learning martial arts. CQC not only helped me build skills that I will use for life, but helped build confidence in myself as well. Highly recommend!

    thumb Jenna Kopp
    April 24, 2021

    5 star review  The best self defense teacher out there!!!

    thumb Kate Mulka
    April 24, 2021

    5 star review  My graduate program at Univ. of Michigan brought on Taqqee and his team for a self-defense workshop in response to the recent and ongoing violence against minority communities. It was a huge success with over 50 participants, and it was truly a pleasure working with CQC. Taqqee was very professional, highly skilled in martial arts, and responsive/attentive to our vision of the programming and made sure to incorporate elements that we desired to see. He brought a team of 6 other instructors and students, and each of them were incredibly knowledgeable and helped each small group practice their moves and give them helpful tips. Overall, we had a positive experience and felt that the knowledge shared, moves learned, and pace/preparation of everything really exceeded our expectations. We would totally work with CQC again and we hope to make this programming recurring as it serves such an important purpose/need in our communities! THANK YOU again!!

    thumb Stella Han
    April 23, 2022

    5 star review  Great environment for everyone from beginners to advanced. Classes are unique, fun to participate in, and techniques all have real world applications. If you are looking for a school where you can learn, laugh, and come back to feeling good, look no further. Sign up today!

    thumb Laurie Calcaterra
    December 20, 2018

    5 star review  Outstanding instructor. I studied multiple martial arts (judo, jujitsu, karate, wing chun, Army ranger H2H) when younger. Despite being in my mid-40s now, Taqqee has me moving in ways I never did before. I feel much more in touch with my body and good about the progress we make. His teaching style is flexible and has led to my spouse training with us now. Would definitely recommend if you want a system that will help you move better and provide a good basis for self defense.

    thumb Jeff Raymond
    March 24, 2022

    5 star review  Taqqee was beyond AMAZING! We had a private class with a few of my coworkers. He made us feel comfortable right away. We learned a ton of great moves/information. Considering taking another class!

    thumb Sara Adams
    June 15, 2019

    5 star review  He is an awesome trainer💯

    thumb Shawan Thompson
    April 24, 2021

    5 star review  I sent my daughter here to learn self defense. Taqqee is a great teacher and very nice, making my daughter feel very comfortable too. Highly recommended, esp for girls 🙂

    thumb Eric He
    August 6, 2019
  • 5 star review  Taqqee is an amazing instructor! When it comes to self defense, he takes the time to explain the process while demonstrating moves. He creates situations and teaches you how to react to them. He is kind and patient and you will definitely walk away feeling empowered!

    thumb Sharon van der Walde
    April 24, 2021

    5 star review  Taqqee is an excellent instructor. I’ve taken martial arts for most of my life and I wish Taqqee was teaching me. He has an excellent way of teaching that makes it stick in your muscle memory. Really great. I just hope he never moves.

    thumb Paul Kopp
    April 24, 2021

    5 star review  Whether you're a complete beginner or a season pro at training in traditional martial arts, taqqee at CQC meets you where you're at and makes you feel welcomed. Wealth of knowledge with a strong foundation in the Filipino martial arts

    thumb Dan Pratt
    December 5, 2019

    5 star review  Incredibly talented and phenomenal teacher. Every student is given the chance to go at their own pace and learn effectively. I have taken private lessons and public classes and it is one of the most positive and encouraging environments you could be in while learning martial arts. CQC not only helped me build skills that I will use for life, but helped build confidence in myself as well. Highly recommend!

    thumb Jenna Kopp
    April 24, 2021

    5 star review  The best self defense teacher out there!!!

    thumb Kate Mulka
    April 24, 2021

    5 star review  My graduate program at Univ. of Michigan brought on Taqqee and his team for a self-defense workshop in response to the recent and ongoing violence against minority communities. It was a huge success with over 50 participants, and it was truly a pleasure working with CQC. Taqqee was very professional, highly skilled in martial arts, and responsive/attentive to our vision of the programming and made sure to incorporate elements that we desired to see. He brought a team of 6 other instructors and students, and each of them were incredibly knowledgeable and helped each small group practice their moves and give them helpful tips. Overall, we had a positive experience and felt that the knowledge shared, moves learned, and pace/preparation of everything really exceeded our expectations. We would totally work with CQC again and we hope to make this programming recurring as it serves such an important purpose/need in our communities! THANK YOU again!!

    thumb Stella Han
    April 23, 2022

    5 star review  Great environment for everyone from beginners to advanced. Classes are unique, fun to participate in, and techniques all have real world applications. If you are looking for a school where you can learn, laugh, and come back to feeling good, look no further. Sign up today!

    thumb Laurie Calcaterra
    December 20, 2018

    5 star review  Outstanding instructor. I studied multiple martial arts (judo, jujitsu, karate, wing chun, Army ranger H2H) when younger. Despite being in my mid-40s now, Taqqee has me moving in ways I never did before. I feel much more in touch with my body and good about the progress we make. His teaching style is flexible and has led to my spouse training with us now. Would definitely recommend if you want a system that will help you move better and provide a good basis for self defense.

    thumb Jeff Raymond
    March 24, 2022

    5 star review  Taqqee was beyond AMAZING! We had a private class with a few of my coworkers. He made us feel comfortable right away. We learned a ton of great moves/information. Considering taking another class!

    thumb Sara Adams
    June 15, 2019

    5 star review  He is an awesome trainer💯

    thumb Shawan Thompson
    April 24, 2021

    5 star review  I sent my daughter here to learn self defense. Taqqee is a great teacher and very nice, making my daughter feel very comfortable too. Highly recommended, esp for girls 🙂

    thumb Eric He
    August 6, 2019